Cambridge YMCA
820 Massachusetts Avenue | Cambridge, MA 02139
P. 617-661-9622

Virtual Resources For Parents

While this is a very difficult time for everyone, it is especially so for parents with children home from school. Below is a list of resources that may help parents out during COVID-19. 

Easy Indoor Activities for Kids: https://www.hellowonderful.co/post/easy-indoor-activities-for-kids/?fbclid=IwAR37n9j4Rc97K371gSR6ihOx0rVQQQSDwzLDE9wdZFQ05vAmyKXQCcrul8c

Scholastic Learn at Home: https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Google Doc: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1D3Tfe92xYldT-HQX6Zqgk1l41N-CuIMFA2z34jfeCMY/edit?fbclid=IwAR0iywrUrUrdsF5IvwhY5gyUVXowcvwyUZ_Ro1hJZ3AVDfB-EOq_B_yfAZ8

Zoom Video is being made free for K-12 schools/students: https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexkonrad/2020/03/13/zoom-video-coronavirus-eric-yuan-schools/?utm_campaign=forbes&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_term=Valerie%2F&fbclid=IwAR2jzAkfIOFJYC_ST5uJ-GU-f1_fl6YlfAE29ndZvfpAQHIZxpEb2lpoDak#513e1bef4e71

Podcasts and other online resources for kids: https://medium.com/kidslisten/schools-out-kids-podcasts-are-in-82634e23d4c4

Over 150 enrichment activities for kids: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1KCFnWreu4v7VoO3NbgP-Qcq2LyE1FvliYSoiTLRY7Qg/htmlview?usp=sharing&fbclid=IwAR3JycmuXWb5GnhRht5A9uVYzhgJEAeuZXEJnWG46L9Q8Wd_CmGKclwwkFg&sle=true

Free Literacy Program (Actors read to children): https://www.storylineonline.net/

Daily Free Arts & Craft Tutorials: https://www.mcharpermanor.com/blog

Digital Citizenship (Civics): https://www.commonsense.org/education/digital-citizenship

NYC Department of Education online resources K-12: https://www.schools.nyc.gov/learning/learn-at-home

37 Free Online Resources for schools shifting to online learning: https://schoolchoiceweek.com/37-free-online-resources-for-schools-shifting-online-during-coronavirus/

English Language Learning: https://www.duolingo.com/

English Language Learners: http://www.eslgamesworld.com/links.html

Zoom on PBS: https://ny.pbslearningmedia.org/collection/zoom/#.Xm7JGnJKj3g

14 day free trial: https://www.k5learning.com/after-school-learning-online

60+ Free Online Resources for School Closures: https://www.weareteachers.com/free-online-learning-resources/

High School: https://ny.pbslearningmedia.org/grades/high-school/

Early Childhood: https://www.zerotothree.org/resources/series/parent-favorites

English Language Learning – five resources: https://www.fluentu.com/blog/educator-english/esl-teaching-resources/

English Language Learning – Interactive websites: https://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/c.php?g=177873&p=1169756

ESL Videos: https://www.eslvideo.com/quizzes_low_intermediate.php

Virtual Field Trips!: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1SvIdgTx9djKO6SjyvPDsoGlkgE3iExmi3qh2KRRku_w/preview?fbclid=IwAR3qmkemrwtqhYqqdlcVi8fvq418zCUoiJ0mjKEixHWCIRSA4cotuboLcvQ

Parents’ Guide to Google Classroom: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1PDVZvie0DnFbFEVFB8U3j89o1mD5BCUXTE6ymbb9y_k/mobilepresent?fbclid=IwAR2L91aogDzLuxuNCOOakvCHvYvtkmsVAgUDDJmnz4B90Up5nGoVOW_PRz0&slide=id.g4f60ec15fb_1_157

Learn and play games focused on Animals: https://switchzoo.com/

Learn about geography & Animals: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

Reading (available in English & Spanish): https://reading.ecb.org/

Hang out with Dr. Seuss: http://www.seussville.com

Math & Reading Skills: http://www.abcya.com

Fun Brain: http://www.funbrain.com

PBS Kids: http://www.pbs.org

Phonics!: http://www.starfall.com